Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Story time: learning to sew

Well, it's 2am, and I should be sleeping. I could be hemming the elephant dress I made over the weekend. I could be finishing the Smurfette pajama pants I made for my sister-in-law eleven billion years ago. looking for the Smurfette pajama pants I made eleven billion years ago but still have to put the elastic waistband in.

But I'm not doing any of those things. I just finished the puppet theater curtain. Tomorrow I'll get a picture of that. I feel like I got off on a tangent. What was I saying again??? Oh yeah, I'm not doing anything I should be doing. Instead I'm thinking about sewing, and how I got started.

When I was a little girl, my mom sewed for me. I'm about 8 or 9 years old before I'm wearing a store bought dress in holiday/school/family portraits. As I got older, I got to help her. Every year Mom made something for the family reunion raffle. I remember aprons, blankets, quillows, pillows, etc. Every year she was sewing. A lot of the time she was still sewing (and sometimes swearing) the night before, or even the day we were supposed to be leaving.

The birth of a baby in the family was also a sewing occasion. Babies got baby blankets. It was just a fact of life. And when I finally reached high school, my mom sewed formal dresses for me. I eventually got to the point where I was cutting the pattern pieces, and pinning pieces for my mom, under her direction. I understood how patterns worked, but I never really learned how to follow the printed instructions that came with. Mom always did the actual sewing.

She said she didn't want to teach me, because she didn't do it "right" and she didn't want me to pick up her bad habits. I got my disdain for ironing seams, and laissez faire attitude towards pattern instructions from her despite her good intentions. And unfortunately, since she didn't want me to be a girly girl, I ended up in Shop instead of Home Ec. So I never learned the basics. I never learned how to sew a zipper, or do buttonholes. I still don't know how to do a blind hem. And the last time I tried to make a lined dress, I sewed each individual lining piece to the corresponding dress piece. So I had extra thick exposed seams, and kind of defeated the purpose to lining.

The first time I attempted to sew a dress with a zipper in it, I got so scared of actually putting the zipper in, that I put it off until Little Miss outgrew the dress. But I persevered. I kept trying zippers, and eventually I got pretty comfortable with them. Of course, it helped that my sweet, patient, and supportive husband bought me a zipper foot for Christmas. YouTube tutorials also helped a lot.

Then my sweet little girl discovered buttons. They're so "boo-ful" and Jo-Ann had them on sale for 50% off. So we grabbed a bunch, and I sat down to teach myself how to do a buttonhole stitch. I still can't figure out the stupid buttonhole foot, or the special buttonhole stitch on my sewing machine. But, with the narrowest, smallest zig zag stitch, I make do. The first time I decided to try a buttonhole, I didn't have anything to mark my fabric. So I raided the kids' art supplies and found a chalk stick. That was less than ideal as a marker, but it did wash out very easily. From there I moved on to a white colored pencil. And this week I finally remembered to pick up an actual, honest-to-goodness fabric marking pencil. I feel so grown up! :)

So, that's my story. That's how I came to the point where I am now. I mostly fiddle around and mess up a bunch of times until I figure out how something works and eventually get good at it. (or give up and vow never to go near knits again). And that's also why I can't just follow the dang directions. I have to muddle through, mess up, and try again in order to make my brain understand what's going on. Luckily this method gives me a good understanding of the concept and how to experiment and modify an idea. So now I can do some rudimentary pattern drafting, I can alter an existing pattern, and I can Frankenstein  together a garment with pieces from various sources. And that makes life fun and interesting.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Blinged out dresser of awesome!

So, Little Miss has been in need of a new dresser for a while. One of my husband's aunts gave us a dresser for her, but it's too light, and easy for Timmy to drag down on himself. It was the dresser that gave Timmy 9 stitches.

This new one is shorter, wider, and heavier. So hopefully it's less tippable. So I began to search and search and search various Goodwill stores. And my searching paid off. I found a nice, new-to-us dresser for only $20. Unfortunately, it was ugly. Dark brown, with a chipped drawer. Yuck. It would have been fine, but I knew it could be better.

So I decided to spray paint it. I've never painted furniture before, and I don't have a ton of experience with spray paint for that matter. But I did know that it could be done. So I jumped into the van, headed down to Walmart and picked up spray primer, purple, pink and green paint. I had a hard time with the dang dresser knobs until I stopped being lazy and finally unscrewed them. It was much easier to paint them separately.


That's the finished product. Pretty, right? Well, I thought it was a bit pink-heavy. The original "vision" was a purple dresser with pink accents. So I put my thinking cap on and decided to bling it out.



I super glued purple, plastic gemstones onto the drawer knobs. While I was reminding myself why I don't use super glue, I let Courtney put the pre-adhesified mirrors onto the drawers. It makes me a little twitchy because there's no rhyme or reason, or balance to the mirror placement. But that's what happens when you let a 3 year old go to town and then glue your hand to the driveway.

Final result: AWESOME! Courtney loves her new dresser, and it required both me and my husband to carry it, so I've got my fingers crossed that Timsy won't be able to use it to aid in his self-destruction.

Cost:
Dresser: $19.99 - 20% off coupon = $15.99
Spray paint: 3 @ $3.67 ea = $11.01
Mirror decals: $4.87
gems: had 'em on hand

Total: $31.87

Not too shabby! :D Little Miss has an awesome new dresser that she loves. She spent most of the day rearranging her drawers and moving her clothes around. I don't understand her system at all, but as long as her clothes are off the floor, I'm a happy momma.

Monday, December 29, 2014

Whew, let's get this party started!

Ok, so I used to blog like 70 bazillion years and 18 kids ago. Well, maybe more like 5 years and 2 kids ago. But it's me. And if you can't handle some exaggeration embellishment, we're not going to be friends :(

I've been reading a lot of blogs and sharing a lot of stuff on facebook lately, and I had one of my late night great ideas. I decided I'll start a new blog. My idea is that I can share the fun stuff I've been up to, and also make goals that I have to get done because a blog will give me accountability. If I tell the blog I'm gonna do it, well then by gum I'd better not let the blog down. The blog is counting on me.

I'm not going to lie, most of the stuff I put out here is going to be a bit odd. That comes from being an oddball, combined with primarily posting after midnight when any sane person would be asleep. Or at least, any sane person with 3 kids who are going to wake up at 6am, no matter what time their crazy mommy went to bed.

It's currently 1:30 a.m. and I just finished a new dress for Courtney. I swear, that child keeps me chained to my sewing machine. But she has the most fabulous wardrobe, if I do say so myself :) I started the bright elephant dress yesterday, but I decided I hated the way the bodice was coming together. So today after church I made a new one from various pattern pieces I Frankensteined together. And I decided that since I have some freaking adorable elephant buttons, I should use them instead of a zipper (like the pattern wanted me to use. What can I say? I'm a rebel.) So I modified the Franken Bodice. I still have to hem the dang thing, but since it's basically a circle skirt, it needs to hang for a while.

Tomorrow I'll try to get pictures of the dress up. Or maybe the next day. It might be too dark for pics by the time I get it hemmed. (or actually tomorrow since it's after midnight and currently technically tomorrow, which makes tomorrow the day after tomorrow) And on that note, I'm off to bed.